skip to Main Content

The West Mamprusi District is one of the six districts in the North East Region of north Ghana. Walewale and Wulugu are the major settlements found in West Mamprusi District, the former being its capital.


Before the creation of the 20 districts, in 1988, West Mamprusi District was part of the 48 districts that were created under the government of Ghana’s decentralization and local government reform policy. The district was carved out of the old Gambaga district in the Northern Region.


The districts’ administrative capital can be located along the Tamale-Bolgatanga road, 109 kilometres (68 mi) away from Tamale. It is bordered to the north by Builsa, Kasena-Nankana and Bolgatanga districts, in the Upper East Region ; to the south by North Gonja, Karaga, Kumbungu and Savelugu district in the Northern Region; to the west by the Sissala East and Wa East districts; and to the East by East Mamprusi municipal assembly.

Back To Top